Bioethicist Jeremy Sugarman Elected to AAP

Jeremy Sugarman, MD, MPH, MA, deputy director for medicine at the Johns Hopkins Berman Institute of Bioethics, has been elected to the Association of American Physicians (AAP). 

An internationally recognized leader in the field of biomedical ethics, Sugarman has worked on such issues as the ethics of informed consent, umbilical cord blood banking, stem cell research, international HIV prevention research, global health and research oversight.

Sugarman has authored over 200 articles, reviews and book chapters, as well as edited or co-edited four influential books:  Beyond Consent: Seeking Justice in Research; Ethics of Research with Human Subjects: Selected Policies and Resources; Ethics in Primary Care; and Methods in Medical Ethics.

In public service, Sugarman has served as senior policy and research analyst for the White House Advisory Committee on Human Radiation Experiments, consultant to the National Bioethics Advisory Commission, senior adviser to the Presidential Commission for the Study of Bioethical Issues, and completed a six-year term on the Maryland Stem Cell Research Commission.

Sugarman currently serves on the Scientific and Research Advisory Board for the Canadian Blood Services, the Ethics and Public Policy Committee of the International Society for Stem Cell Research, and the board of directors of Public Responsibility in Medicine and Research (PRIM&R). He is co-chair of the Johns Hopkins Institutional Stem Cell Research Oversight Committee. In addition, he is chair of the Ethics Working Group of the HIV Prevention Trials Network and is the ethics officer for the Resuscitation Outcomes Consortium.

Four other physicians at Johns Hopkins Medicine join Sugarman in being honored by election to AAP: Stephen Desiderio, MD, PhD; Hal Dietz, MD; Drew Pardoll, MD, PhD; and David Valle, MD. Founded in 1885, the nonprofit, professional organization works to advance medical research and its application to practice. The names of this year’s new members will be announced April 26 at AAP’s annual joint meeting with the American Society for Clinical Investigation in Chicago.