Invites applications for two-year funded postdoctoral fellowships to begin in September 2015

Application review will begin December 15, 2014

The Johns Hopkins Berman Institute of Bioethics is pleased to announce a new postdoctoral fellowship program, the Hecht-Levi Fellowship Program in Bioethics.  This two year post-doctoral fellowship seeks new fellows to begin September 2015. The main goal of the Fellowship is to launch the careers of the next generation of bioethics scholars, so there is considerable protected time for research and publication.  Fellowship responsibilities can be coordinated with clinical duties for trainees at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine or School of Nursing.

The Hecht-Levi Fellowship Program provides two-year postdoctoral positions that include:

  • Weekly seminars including presentations and discussions with the leading policy makers and academics in the field;
  • Individualized research program;
  • Post-doctoral mentoring in bioethics;
  • Professional development training;
  • Participation in the Berman Institute’s outreach efforts via social media;
  • Coursework and/or teaching opportunities (commensurate with experience and background);
  • A total financial package for two years of $52,000 per year, including individual health insurance;
  • A modest annual discretionary fund for travel to relevant conferences

Fellowship recipients must reside in the Baltimore metropolitan area during the term of the term of the fellowship. Doctoral or professional degree in relevant disciplinary area required.  Prior bioethics study or experience is desirable but not required.

Please send a cover letter, CV, three letters of reference, copy of graduate transcript, a writing sample, and a personal statement to:

Jeffrey Kahn, PhD, MPH
Hecht-Levi Fellowship Program in Bioethics
Johns Hopkins Berman Institute of Bioethics
1809 Ashland Avenue
Baltimore, MD   21205-1996
Phone: (410) 614-5590                    Fax: (410) 614-5360

Additional inquiries may be directed to Prof. Kahn at jpk@jhu.edu. Review of applications will begin December 15, 2014. The Johns Hopkins University is an Affirmative Acting/Equal Opportunity Employer.


GREENWALL FELLOWSHIP (no longer available)

General Background

The Greenwall Fellowship Program in Bioethics and Health Policy provided an unparalleled opportunity for fellowship and faculty development training in bioethics and health policy. It was a collaborative effort of The Johns Hopkins University (JHU) and Georgetown University (GU). Together, JHU and GU constitute one of the largest and most diverse faculty in bioethics anywhere. At JHU, Greenwall Fellows worked with faculty of the Berman Institute, the Philosophy Department, the School of Medicine, and the Bloomberg School of Public Health. At Georgetown, Fellows worked with faculty of the Kennedy Institute of Ethics, the Philosophy Department, and the Law Center.

The Greenwall Fellowship program and its faculty covered much of the waterfront of issues and methodologies in bioethics, from ethics and advances in biomedical science, to ethics and public health and health policy, to ethics and clinical care. The defining focus of the Program, however, was bioethics and public policy. Although we provided fellows who wish an exposure to clinical medical ethics with clinically oriented opportunities, our primary emphasis was the intersection of scholarship in bioethics with the formation and evaluation of public policy.

Our fellows have an impressive publication record. As a result of research done while a fellow, Greenwall Fellows have published in such journals as the New England Journal of Medicine, Journal of the American Medical Association, Health Affairs, Philosophy and Public Affairs, Ethics, Philosophical Studies, Health Economics, Journal of Social Philosophy, Journal of Clinical Ethics, Journal of Medical Ethics, Journal of Law, Medicine and Ethics, Jurimetrics, Health Care Analysis, American Journal of Bioethics, Fertility and Sterility, Hastings Center Report, Journal of General Internal Medicine, Journal of the American Geriatrics Society, Yale Journal of Health Policy, Law and Ethics, Indiana Health Law Review, University of North Carolina Law Review, American Journal of Law and Medicine, and Milbank Quarterly. Fellows have also contributed essays to books published by such presses as Cornell, University of Michigan, and Oxford University. One fellow completed a book forthcoming from Routledge. We have 10 years experience training Greenwall Fellows and our alumni are among the next generation of leaders in bioethics at Universities throughout the United States, and beyond. Former Greenwall Fellows are now on the faculty of the University of California – San Francisco, Duke, Ohio State University, George Washington University, University of South Carolina, University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill, University of Edinburgh, Johns Hopkins University (3 former fellows), University of Minnesota (2 former fellows), Moravian College and the University of Delaware.

Greenwall Fellows

Class of 2012
Brooke Cunningham, MD, PhD
Matthew DeCamp, MD, PhD
Kathy King, PhD
Nicole Martinez, JD

Class of 2011
Anne Barnhill, PhD, MA
Laura Biron, PhD
David Tester, PhD

Class of 2010
Eran Klein, MD, PhD
Natalie Ram, JD
Alan Rubel, JD, PhD

Class of 2009
Dan O’Connor, PhD
Michelle N. Meyer, JD, PhD
Sirine Shebaya, PhD
Andrea Sutherland, MD, MPH, MSc

Class of 2008
Leslie Meltzer Henry, JD, PhD(c), MSc
Yoram Unguru, MD, MS, MA, FAAP
Sara Olack, PhD

Class of 2007
Michelle H. Lewis, MD, JD
Elisa A. Hurley, PhD
Eileen H. Kim, MD, MA
Dan Moller, PhD

Class of 2006
Ruth M. Farrell MD, MA
S. Matthew Liao, PhD
Jonathan H. Marks, MA, BCL

Class of 2005
Gwynne L. Jenkins, PhD
Rebecca Kukla, PhD
Dan Larrivierre, MD, JD

Class of 2004
Mark Greene, PhD, BVSc
Debra Mathews, PhD
Naomi Seiler, JD
Jon Tilburt, MD

Class of 2003
David Bekelman, MD
Jacqueline Fox, JD, MA
Carol Moeller, PhD

Class of 2002
Mary Catherine Beach, MD, MPH
Gail Javitt, JD, MPH
James Taggart, JD, PhD

Class of 2001
Anne Drapkin Lyerly, MD, MA
Marc Spindelman, JD
Rebecca Walker, PhD

Class of 2000
Debra DeBruin, PhD
Ileana Dominguez-Urban, JD
Carol Vannier, MD

Class of 1999
Melissa M. Goldstein, JD
James Hodge, JD, ML
John Song, MD, MPH
Sonia Suter, JD, MA

Class of 1998
Ellen Agard, PhD, MPH
Lauren Randel, MD
Andrew Siegel, JD, PhD
Leslie Wolf, JD, MPH

Class of 1997
David McCarthy , PhD