Invites applications for two-year funded postdoctoral fellowships beginning September 2019

Call for Applications:

The Johns Hopkins Berman Institute of Bioethics is pleased to invite applications for the Hecht‐Levi Postdoctoral Fellowship Program in Bioethics. The admissions committee is seeking a few uniquely qualified postdoctoral applicants to begin this two-year fellowship in September 2019. Applicants with at least some exposure to Bioethics during their education are encouraged to apply, though an extensive background in bioethics is not required. This admissions process is highly competitive, and only a few applicants are accepted into the program each year.

Additionally, for the first time, we are recruiting candidates for the Ruth Faden Scholars Program (described in greater detail below).

Application review will begin December 15, 2018

Hecht-Levi Fellowship Program Description:

The Hecht-Levi Fellowship is a two-year program of study and experiential learning in bioethics administered by the Johns Hopkins Berman Institute of Bioethics. The main goal of the Fellowship is to launch the careers of the next generation of bioethics scholars, so the program offers a considerable amount of protected time for research and publication.

All Hecht-Levi Fellows participate in weekly seminars or discussions, pursue their own scholarship in bioethics, and collaborate with faculty on selected projects in bioethics. Each Fellow designs an individual program tailored to her or his particular goals, interests, and background.

Hecht‐Levi Postdoctoral Fellows have access to a wide range of benefits and activities in multiple schools at Johns Hopkins, including:

  • Weekly seminars, presentations and discussions with leading academic and policy makers;
  • Individualized research program;
  • Bioethics coursework through the Berman Institute’s Master in Bioethics program;
  • Postdoctoral mentoring in bioethics;
  • Professional development training;
  • Participation in the Berman Institute’s outreach efforts via social media;
  • Teaching opportunities (commensurate with experience and background);
  • $55,000 per year, plus health and other benefits
  • A modest discretionary fund for travel to relevant conferences

To apply, please submit the following documents through Interfolio at http://apply.interfolio.com/54582 :

  • Cover Letter
  • Personal statement
  • CV
  • Copy of Graduate Transcript(s)
  • Writing Sample
  • Three Letters of Reference

Ruth Faden Scholars Program

We are pleased to announce the Ruth Faden Scholars Program, which will begin in the fall of 2019. Faden Scholars will represent a subgroup of Hecht-Levi postdoctoral fellows who have demonstrated scholarly interests in and potential for leadership in bioethics and public policy. Faden Scholars will participate in a number of activities in addition to those provided by the Hecht-Levi post-doctoral program, including:

  • Leadership training
  • Introduction to directors of other bioethics programs, and networking visits to bioethics programs at other Institutions
  • Opportunities to observe leadership in action at meetings of the Berman Institute Advisory Board and the Association of Bioethics Program Directors
  • Regular meetings with Professor Ruth Faden, founder of the Berman Institute
  • Opportunities for internships in health policy settings with bioethics focus in the Washington, DC area

All Hecht-Levi Fellows are expected to be leaders in their area of scholarship and all have access to mentorship with Dr. Faden. What distinguishes Faden Scholars from other Hecht-Levi post-doctoral fellows is the additional focus of their training on future leadership in the field of bioethics. We will recruit one or two Faden Scholars per year from among eligible Hecht-Levi applicants. No separate application is required. Hecht-Levi applicants interested in applying to be a Faden Scholar should provide an additional short statement outlining their relevant interests and achievements. Specifically, the personal statement should address the following questions:

  • What is the most significant leadership experience you have had in your life (not limited to bioethics leadership) and how has it shaped you?
  • What kinds of leadership experiences do you hope to gain as a Faden Scholar?

For more information on the Fellowship program or the Johns Hopkins Berman Institute of Bioethics, please visit bioethicsinstitute.org. For inquiries regarding the Hecht-Levi Postdoctoral Fellowship Program, please contact the Director of Education Initiatives, Professor Gail Geller, at ggeller@jhu.edu. The Johns Hopkins University is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer.

Johns Hopkins Medicine: Division of General Internal Medicine (GIM) – GIM Fellowship Program 

Education Initiatives Login

Hecht-Levi Fellows

Class of 2017

Class of 2016

Class of 2015

Class of 2014

Class of 2013

  • Theodore Bailey, MD, JD, MA
  • Stephanie Morain, PhD
  • Bridget Pratt, PhD
  • Kevin Riggs, MD, MPH
  • Yashar Saghai, PhD

Greenwall Fellows in Bioethics and Health Policy

Class of 2012
Brooke Cunningham, MD, PhD
Matthew DeCamp, MD, PhD
Kathy King, PhD
Nicole Martinez, JD

Class of 2011
Anne Barnhill, PhD, MA
Laura Biron, PhD
David Tester, PhD

Class of 2010
Eran Klein, MD, PhD
Natalie Ram, JD
Alan Rubel, JD, PhD

Class of 2009
Dan O’Connor, PhD
Michelle N. Meyer, JD, PhD
Sirine Shebaya, PhD
Andrea Sutherland, MD, MPH, MSc

Class of 2008
Leslie Meltzer Henry, JD, PhD(c), MSc
Yoram Unguru, MD, MS, MA, FAAP
Sara Olack, PhD

Class of 2007
Michelle H. Lewis, MD, JD
Elisa A. Hurley, PhD
Eileen H. Kim, MD, MA
Dan Moller, PhD

Class of 2006
Ruth M. Farrell MD, MA
S. Matthew Liao, PhD
Jonathan H. Marks, MA, BCL

Class of 2005
Gwynne L. Jenkins, PhD
Rebecca Kukla, PhD
Dan Larrivierre, MD, JD

Class of 2004
Mark Greene, PhD, BVSc
Debra Mathews, PhD
Naomi Seiler, JD
Jon Tilburt, MD

Class of 2003
David Bekelman, MD
Jacqueline Fox, JD, MA
Carol Moeller, PhD

Class of 2002
Mary Catherine Beach, MD, MPH
Gail Javitt, JD, MPH
James Taggart, JD, PhD

Class of 2001
Anne Drapkin Lyerly, MD, MA
Marc Spindelman, JD
Rebecca Walker, PhD

Class of 2000
Debra DeBruin, PhD
Ileana Dominguez-Urban, JD
Carol Vannier, MD

Class of 1999
Melissa M. Goldstein, JD
James Hodge, JD, ML
John Song, MD, MPH
Sonia Suter, JD, MA

Class of 1998
Ellen Agard, PhD, MPH
Lauren Randel, MD
Andrew Siegel, JD, PhD
Leslie Wolf, JD, MPH

Class of 1997
David McCarthy , PhD