PoECP: Service

Berman Institute faculty are pay for homework actively involved as leaders in the three main Hospital Ethics Committees (HECs) in the Johns Hopkins system, as listed below:

Johns Hopkins Hospital:

  • Mark Hughes, MD, MA, Member
  • Marie Nolan, PhD, RN, Member
  • Cynda Rushton, PhD, RN, Co-Chair
  • Peter Terry, MD, Member

Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center:

  • Joseph Carrese, MD, MPH, Chair

Currently there is no formal relationship between the Berman Institute and the three main Johns Hopkins HECs. However, as noted, Berman Institute faculty are active leaders and members of these committees. Going forward, PoECP faculty will participate in a dialogue that carefully considers whether the Berman Institute and its faculty might become more formally involved with the HECs (for example, with respect to training and CME; perhaps facilitating harmonization across HECs with respect to policies and practices).

Quick Links